Lord Shiva, Shiva mantras, 108 names of shiva

Lord Shiva: One of the Trimurtis. Shiva is the supreme
God in the Shaiva tradition of Hinduism. In the Smartha tradition, he
is one of the five primary forms of God.

Followers of Hinduism who focus their worship upon Shiva are called
Shaivites or Shaivas (Sanskrit Saiva). Shaivism, along with Vaishnavite
traditions that focus on Vishnu, and Sakta traditions that focus on the
goddess Devi are three of the most influential denominations in Hinduism.

Shiva is usually worshipped in the form of Lord Shiva
linga. In images, he is generally represented as immersed in deep meditation
or dancing the Tandava upon the demon of ignorance in his manifestation
of Nataraja, the lord of the dance.

In some other Hindu denominations, Brahma, Vishnu, and
Lord Shiva represent the three primary aspects of the divine in Hinduism
and are collectively known as the Trimurti. In this school of religious
thought, Brahma is the creator, Vishnu is the maintainer or preserver,
and Shiva is the destroyer or transformer.

Similar Posts